Recommended EF1 Set up?

A forum for electric pylon racing discussisons including Electric Formula 1.
lmotv1
Super Contributor

Recommended EF1 Set up?

Post by lmotv1 »

Having read the threads and different options, any recommendation on a set up that is working well? i.e. Engine, controller, esc.
Thanks
wkevinm
Super Contributor

Re: Recommended EF1 Set up?

Post by wkevinm »

I have been flying EF1 for a couple years

I have used the e-flight motor as well as the OS motor, both are good but I favour the OS motor, very smooth. I have replaced a couple shafts on the OS motors when I first started using them, in fact bought a half dozen thinking it would be a routine requirement, but have gone a full year now without nosing over and no more problems.

I have flown with both the e-flight 60 AMP pro controller and the Ice light 75 controller, and find both good.

I have flown several Pogo's, a Miss Lynn and now a Shoestring. My preference is the Shoestring, I have substituted the aluminum wing tube with carbon fibre, otherwise no modifications, even the landing gear has stood up well enough even though there are lots of complaints that it is too soft, if you can grease the plane in it is fine.

Batteries are a very big deal, I have used Hyperian 35C 2200, Thunder Power 45C 2650 and now Thunder Power 65C 2650, which I prefer. I started out trying less than optimum batteries... save your money and buy the best.

Radio system, I use all HITEC analog servos, and Optima 6 - light receivers on Aurora 2.4.

My final thought battery warming has become a requirement to get the best out of the system. In a way I wish it was illegal to warm batteries but once one starts it we all have to follow to stay competitive. I have built a battery warmer and find it makes a difference.
lmotv1
Super Contributor

Post by lmotv1 »