NewB

A forum for electric pylon racing discussisons including Electric Formula 1.
munger

NewB

Post by munger »

Hello EF1 Pylon racers

I am a newb when it comes to EF1. I raced pylon with the FORKS (Fairfield Ohio Remote Kontrol Society) 30+ years ago. Back then we raced Scat Cats with K@B 40 engines.

Looking forward to seeing what has happened in 30+ years...............considering getting into EF1.

I already talked to Tom M. He gave me lots of info to start.........
Bob_T
Super Contributor

Re: NewB

Post by Bob_T »

If you are still in Fairfield, OH area, my son and a couple of other folks that are members of Greater Cincinnati Radio Control Club race EF-1 and the other nitro classes at the NMPRA and CAPS pylon races. We sometimes go to the field and "practice" (without poles). Flying them at our field has not been a problem, provided there are not a lot of other sport fliers wanting to fly at the same time. The Moonshot Pylon Race is a CAPS race that held in early June at our club field, located off of Woodsdale Rd, in Trenton, OH, and EF-1 is flown at that race.
Last edited by Bob_T on Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ronin4740
Super Contributor

Post by ronin4740 »

EF1 is a great place to start or get back into Pylon racing! The class is fairly inexpensive to fly (no $400-$1200 composite air frames!) while still being FUN! Hope that you take the plunge, build an EF1 airplane and head to a two or three pole race! Make sure to practice beforehand!!! Am sure the years of flying Scat Cats will come back to you but nothing substitutes for stick time on the poles :)

If you need any help we're here to offer our opinions!

Chris
munger

Post by munger »

Thanks for the input. Actually I am in Northwest ohio now. Near Marysville.

I would love to practice somewhere. I guess I can setup some poles at my club when no one is there.

Is there any club that puts up poles from time to to so racers can practice ?
delateurj
Super Contributor