Getting Started with FrSky radios and OpenTX software

Discuss and share radio setups for pylon racing and sport pylon racing
DonStegall
Super Contributor

Getting Started with FrSky radios and OpenTX software

Post by DonStegall »

As a software engineer and software architect, I have to document a lot of what I do in my jobs. I find it easier to document systems as I learn them instead of after the fact. Then I can refer back to my documentation and correct it as needed.

There are lots of of videos on "FrSky" radios and the OpenTX" operating system that runs on them. Since this is a pylon focused forum, I'm going to document my journey into learning this equipment that is new to me. I have been flying the Taranis for a couple of years. But a friend set it up for my FPV racing drones and I'm just now really working on learning the radio and system.

I'm attaching actual photos I've taken, instead of the promo and product listing photos.

I have the Taranis X9D Plus edition of the transmitter.

I added one new option today. I got some Apex RC Products Red Aluminum Futaba / Spektrum DX6 DX6i DX7S DX8 DX9 / Taranis X9DRC Transmitter Gimbal Stick Ends #1711. I like these better than the Apex RC Products Red Futaba / Spektrum DX5i DX6 DX6i DX7S DX8 DX9 / Taranis X9D Umbrella Transmitter Gimbal Sticks Ends #1714. The first ones provide more thumb grip. I fly with my thumbs and I don't pinch the sticks. The umbrella sticks would be easier on your thumbs is you pinch the sticks. These are compatible with most radios. At least they should work on Futaba,Spektrum, and Taranis.

Here is my transmitter with the new stick ends.

I had heard that OpenTX had a transmitter screen capture function. My Google searches turned up messages saying it can be done, but I found a video in French here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qT0T5NKapnY that shows how to do it.