Tutorials for Stabilization and Telemetry on FrSky Taranis X9D with OpenTX

Discuss and share radio setups for pylon racing and sport pylon racing
DonStegall
Super Contributor

Re: Tutorials for Stabilization and Telemetry on Spektrum, Futaba, Hitec, FrSky Taranis X9D, and more

Post by DonStegall »

I love telemetry. As a software engineer, I have to have data to analyze things. You cannot guess when building software systems. Everything has to be discreet and deterministic or you don't get 100% accuracy.

We can't get 100% accuracy with model aviation. But just as people have found radar equipment to be very useful, telemetry gives new insights.

I have worked with almost all of the Spektrum telemetry modules including one not under the Spektrum name, but it is for Spektrum only. That is the Evolution RPM Telemetry Adapter (EVOA113) https://www.horizonhobby.com/evolution- ... er-evoa113 and I use it on all of my gasoline engines.

I have a FrSky Taranis X9D transmitter that I got for FPV drone racing. I'm getting ready to start using it for planes as the telemetry sensors are less expensive than the Spektrum sensors. The FrSky system does not have it's own stabilization system built in.

I'm going to be investigating other systems like this one Flex Innovations Aura 8 https://www.flexinnovations.com/product-p/fpzaura08.htm that works with most PWM servo systems. If I only have to know one system, that would be a little easier. I already know Spektrum AS3X, so the learning curve should not be too big.

According to the information I have, even sponsored Futaba pilots can use third party stabilization in their pylon planes, but this thread is not the place to discuss that.

Here is an introduction to the FrSky telemetry sensors.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cK_R4MG7qXY

Last edited by DonStegall on Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
fizzwater2
Super Contributor